29 years of successful activity on
the selection and seed production market
+7 (86631) 9-33-16
+7 (967) 422-99-52
Maize harvesting

Harvesting is set out in optimal terms, which ensure the largest crop harvesting and high quality products. Terms of maize harvesting are set depending on the purpose of crops: grain, silage or green feed

When establishing the usefulness of harvesting this culture the stage of ripeness should be determined. In maize, there are four main stages of grain development: grain growth, kernel milk line, milk-wax, wax and fully ripeness.

In the stage of grain growth, the consistency of the kernel contains a transparent gelatinous liquid, and the moisture content of the grain is 80-90%.

In the stage of kernel milk line ripeness, when squashing the grain, a milky liquid is released, the moisture content of the grain is 55-60%.

In the stage of milk-wax ripeness, the grain has signs of milk and wax ripeness, i.e. when squashing the grain the light liquid and dough-like weight is released. In this stage, the moisture content in the grain is 45-48%, in the stem – 80-82 % and in the leaves – 30 to 35%.

In the stage of wax ripeness, the consistency of the grain is firm, but it is easily pressed by the nail, and at the same time a trace remains. During this period, the lower leaves begin to dry up, the moisture content in the grain is 32-37%, in the stem – 72%, in the leaves – 20-25%.

When fully ripe, the maize grain becomes hard. The leaves, corn shucks and part of the stem become dry. In this stage, the moisture content in the grain is 23-28%, in the stem – 55-60%, and in the leaves – 9-12%.

Harvesting silage corn should be set out at the stage of milk-wax ripeness, when there are 15-20% of plants are of kernel milk line ripeness, and the rest are of wax ripeness.

It was found that 100 kg of maize (stalks and ears) harvested in the stage of kernel milk line ripeness, contains on average 20 kg of feed units, in the stage of milk-wax ripeness – 24 kg, in the stage of wax ripeness – 25.5 kg, and digestible protein of 1.20, 1.22 and 1.31 kg, respectively.

The maize’s dry content in the stage of kernel milk line ripeness is 16-18%. In this stage the plants are most rationally used for feeding in green form, and they not are suitable for silage, so as silage will be very acidic. In this stage, corn does not reach its maximum feed value.

The maize’s dry content in the stage of milk-wax ripeness is 18-22%. In the grain, sugar is converted into starch – this is the most suitable phase for silage. In addition, in this stage growth of the crop mostly ends. In the wax ripeness, the dry content is 23-28%, the lower leaves wither, and some of them already lose their feeding value.

It should be considered that maize harvested for silage, when it contains too little moisture in the leaves, in the stem and on the ear, thickens poorly, grows moldy, and silage turns out to be of poor quality.

Simplified method of accounting for the silage corn yield.

To squash out all the plants on a plot of 10 square meters in two-fold repetition. For this purpose to measure 2 times for 715 cm in a specific plot of a field of each hybrid and to squash out all plants on 2 adjacent rows. To weigh and to register the number of plants received from each plot. Then to remove all ears from plants, to weigh them together with shucks and to register. To determine the percentage of ears in the total weight of plants (the weight of the ears divided by the total weight of plants from the plot and multiplied by 100). The percentage of ears in the total mass equal to 35 is considered good, and 40% and above – excellent).

The crop output per 10 square meters multiplied by 1000 is equal to an output per hectare.

26 лет успешной работы на
рынке селекции и семеноводства
+7 (86631) 9-33-16
+7 (967) 422-99-52
Уборка кукурузы

К уборке приступают в опти­мальные сроки, обеспечивающие наибольший сбор уро­жая, высокое качество продукции. Сроки уборки кукурузы устанавливаются в зависимости от назначения посевов: на зерно, силос или зеленый корм.

При установлении целесообразности уборки этой культуры определяют фазу спелости. У кукурузы разли­чают четыре основные фазы развития зерна: формирование зерна, молочная, молочно-восковая, восковая и полная спелость.

В фазе формирования зерна консистенция зерновки содержит прозрачно-студенистую жидкость, а влажность зерна составляет  – 80-90%.

В фазе молочной спелости при раздавливании зерна выделяется жидкость молочного цвета, влажность зерна– 55-60%.

При молочно-восковой спелости зерно обладает при­знаками молочной и восковой спелости, т.е. при раздавли­вании зерна выделяется светлая жидкость и тестообразная масса. В этой фазе содержится влаги в зерне – 45-48%, стебле – 80-82 % и в листьях – 30-35%.

В фазе восковой спелости консистенция зерна твер­дая, но легко надавливается ногтем, причем при этом оста­ется след. В этот период нижние листья начинают подсы­хать, влажность зерна составляет 32-37%, стебля – 72%, листьев – 20-25%.

При полной спелости зерно кукурузы становится твердым. Листья, обертки початков и часть стебля стано­вятся сухим. В этой фазе влажность зерна составляет 23-28%, стебля – 55-60%, а листьев –  9-12%.

Уборку силосной кукурузы следует начинать в стадии молочно-восковой спелости, когда на посевах 15-20% растений с початками молочной спелости, а остальные перешли в восковую спелость.

Установлено, что в 100 кг кукурузы (стебли и по­чатки), убранной в фазе молочной спелости, содержится кормовых единиц в среднем 20 кг, в фазе молочно-воско­вой спелости – 24, восковой – 25,5 кг, а переваримого про­теина 1.20, 1.22 и 1,31 кг соответственно.

В молочной спелости кукуруза содержит 16-18% су­хих веществ. В этой фазе растения наиболее рационально использовать для скармливания в зеленом виде, а для си­лосования они не пригодны, так как силос будет очень кислым. В этой фазе кукуруза не достигает максимальной кормовой ценности.

В стадии молочно-восковой спелости кукуруза со­держит 18-22% сухих веществ. В зерне сахар превра­щается в крахмал – это наиболее подходящая фаза для силосования. Кроме того, в этой фазе в основном за­канчивается прирост урожая. В восковой спелости со­держание сухого вещества составляет 23-28%, нижние листья усыхают, а часть их уже теряет кормовую цен­ность.

Необходимо учитывать, что кукуруза, убранная на силос, когда она содержит мало влаги в листьях, в стебле и початке, плохо уплотняется, плесневеет и си­лос получается низкого качества.

Упрощенная методика учета урожайности силосной кукурузы.

Выжать все расте­ния на делянке площадью 10 м2 в двух кратной повторно­сти. Для этого в характерном участке поля каждого гиб­рида отмерить 2 раза по 715 см и выжать все растения на 2-х смежных рядках. Полученное количество растений с ка­ждой делянки взвесить и занести в журнал. Затем с расте­ний каждой делянки выломать все початки, взвесить вме­сте с обертками и занести в журнал. Определить процент содержания початков в общем весе растений (вес початков разделить на общий вес растений с делянки и умножить на 100). Процент содержания початков в общей массе равное 35 считается хорошим, а 40% и выше – отличным).

Урожай с 10 м2 умножив на 1000 получаете урожай­ность с 1 га.

dscf4433-1024x768