29 years of successful activity on
the selection and seed production market
+7 (86631) 9-33-16
+7 (967) 422-99-52
Maize sowing

Maize seeds begin to germinate at a temperature of 7-9 °C, but it is sowed when the soil warms up to 10-12 °C at a depth of 10 cm.

Long-term observations show that in the early period of sowing, when the soil is not sufficiently warmed at the depth of seeding-down, the emergence of seedlings is delayed for 15-35 days and they are thinned out. According to numerous studies, full seedlings of maize are observed at an average daily soil temperature at a depth of 10 cm: at 8.3-9.2 °C – on 26-38 day; at 12.8-16 °C – on 14-22 day; at 16-18 °C – on 12-13 day; at 18-22 °C – on 11 day and 23-26 °C – on 6-7 day from sowing.

dscf4801

According to the results of worldwide experiments, reasonably early maize sowing terms give the best results in yield.

Sowing in late terms leads to a significant reduction in yield, as the intensive growth and formation of the crop coincide with the hottest and driest period, which is unfavorable for maize.

It is established that the ground germination capacity is always lower than in laboratory conditions, since frequent fluctuations in soil temperature, fungal and bacterial infection in it negatively affect the germination; as a result, part of the seeds sown in the soil does not germinate. Therefore, to obtain the optimum density of planting it is necessary to make an allowance to the seeds sown for 5-10%.

dscf4788

One of the important methods of the most complete usage of the hybrid or varieties biological characteristics is the adequate definition of the optimal density. Based on long-term experiences on studying the influence of density of planting hybrids, different maturity groups, it was determined that the yield may be improved by 15-20% when growing maize at the optimum density. The density of planting per hectare depends on the varietal features of the hybrid, a maturity group, growing conditions (growing area, moisture, mineral nutrition).

It is believed that maize sowings for silage should be sown with greater density than that for grain. However, in the case of overcrowding of crops, many plants remain sterile, i.e. they do not give ears. In this case, it is possible to increase the total harvesting of silage per unit of area, but in this case, the silage will be defective due to the lack of ears and will not have feeding value in animal breeding.

The estimation of the seeds requirement is carried out based on the weight of 1000 seeds and the recommended sowing density (see the table for estimation of seed application rate).

The estimation of seed application rate using the table is as follows. For example, it is required to harvest 60 thousand plants per hectare. First column contains figure 60, opposite this figure in the second column is figure 66,7, i.e. thousands of seeds to be sown (provided that the germination of seeds corresponds to GOST). It is assumed that the weight of 1000 seeds of hybrid will be 250 g, then the seed application rate will be 16.7 kg of seeds per hectare: the intersection of line with number 60 of the first column, wherein the mass of 1000 seeds – 250 gr.

Currently, the relevance of estimation the seed application rate in kilograms is lost, as it should be determined by the number of seeds per hectare. That is why seeds are sold in sowing units indicating the number of seeds in one package.

26 лет успешной работы на
рынке селекции и семеноводства
+7 (86631) 9-33-16
+7 (967) 422-99-52
Посев кукурузы

Семена кукурузы начинают прорастать при температуре 7-9 °С, но к посеву ее приступают, когда почва на глубине 10 см прогреется на 10-12 °С.

Многолетние наблюдения показывают, что при ран­нем сроке посева, когда почва на глубине заделки семян недостаточно прогрелась, появление всходов затягивается на 15-35 дней и всходы бывают изреженными. По данным многочисленных исследований, полные всходы кукурузы отмечаются при среднесуточной температуре почвы на глубине 10 см: 8,3-9,2 °С – на 26-38 день; при 12,8-16 °С – на 14-22 день; при 16-18 °С – на 12-13 день; при 18-22 °С – на 11 день и 23-26 °С – на 6-7 день от посева.

dscf4801

По результатам опытов по всему миру, разумно ранние сроки сева кукурузы дают лучшие результаты по урожайности.

Посев в поздние сроки приводит к значительному снижению урожайности, так как интенсивный рост и формирование урожая совпадают с самым жарким и сухим, неблагоприятным для кукурузы, периодом.

Установлено, что полевая всхожесть семян всегда ниже лабораторной, так как частые колебания температуры почвы, грибковая и бактериальная инфекция в ней отрицательно действуют на прорастание зерна, в результате чего часть посеянных в почву семян не всходит. Поэтому, для получения оптимальной густоты стояния необходимо делать страховую надбавку к высеваемым семенам 5-10%.

Одним из важных приемов наиболее полного использования биологических особенностей гибрида, сорта является правильное определение оптимальной густоты стояния. На основании многолетних опытов по изучению влияния густоты стояния различных гибридов, сортов различных групп спелости установлено, что за счет выращивания кукурузы при оптимальной густоте можно увеличить урожай на 15-20%. Густота стояния растений кукурузы на гектаре зависит от сортовых особенностей гибрида, группы спелости, условий выращивания (зона выращивания, влагообеспеченность, обеспеченность минеральным питанием).

dscf4788

Существует мнение, что посевы кукурузы на силос следует высевать с большей густотой, чем кукурузу на зерно. Однако, в случае загущения посевов кукурузы, многие растения остаются бесплодными, т.е. не дают початков. В этом случае можно увеличить общий сбор силосной массы с единицы площади, но силос при этом будет неполноценным из-за отсутствия початков и не будет представлять кормовой ценности в животноводстве.

Расчет потребности в семенах кукурузы проводят исходя из массы 1000 семян и рекомендованной густоты посева (см. таблицу для расчета норм высева семян кукурузы).

Расчет нормы высева семян кукурузы с помощью таблицы производят следующим образом. Например, нужно получить к уборке 60 тыс. растений на га. В первой колонке находят цифру 60, напротив этой цифры во второй колонке – цифру 66,7, т.е. столько тысяч зерен нужно высеять (при условии, что всхожесть семян соответствует ГОСТу). Пусть вес 1000 семян гибрида будет 250 г, тогда на пересечении строки с цифрой 60 первой колонки и колонки, где указана масса 1000 семян – 250 гр., определяют норму высева – 16,7 кг семян на 1 га.

В настоящее время актуальность расчета нормы высева в килограммах теряется. Потому что норму высева необходимо определять по количеству семян на гектаре. Именно поэтому семена реализуются в посевных единицах с указанием количества семян в одной упаковке.